In This Section

Haematological (Blood) Cancers 


What is Haematological Cancer?

Haematological cancers affect the blood, bone marrow and lymph glands. There are many different types of Haematological cancers. The main three are Leukaemia, Lymphoma and Myeloma.

General information about haematological cancers:

Information about specific types of haematological cancers:

  • Leukaemia (cancer of the white blood cells in the blood)
  • Lymphoma (cancer of the lymph nodes)
  • Myeloma (cancer of a type of white blood cell - called a plasma cell - that live in bone marrow)  

Other types of Haematological Cancers

There are other types of Haematological cancers other than the ones above. Many of these are grouped under the headings of myeloproliferative diseases/ myelodysplastic syndromes. These are less common but both clinics in Shrewsbury and Telford have information about them. It is more difficult to find specific information about these illnesses on the Internet.

Need help using this website? Visit our accessibility page.
Stay in Touch


Sign up to be a member of The Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust and keep updated on our NHS Foundation Trust status via our A Healthier Future newsletter.


RSS Feeds

Subscribe to our feeds below to read new content and the latest headlines across the site:

Contact Us

Please contact us if you have any questions or comments about our website.