Individuals and teams from across Trust were honoured at our first ever virtual awards ceremony in July 2021.

Winners ranged from frontline clinical staff to cleanliness teams and behind-the-scenes services. Among the awards were a critical care nurse who trained more than 500 colleagues from across SaTH and the wider health system to help in critical care at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic; one of the Trust’s youngest volunteers, who put herself forward to help during the pandemic and showed great dedication; and a public recognition award for a matron who was described by the wife of a patient as her ‘lifeline’ when she couldn’t visit because of COVID-19 restrictions.

Winners of the awards were:

Values Awards

  • Partnering: Frailty Team, PRH
  • Ambitious: Radiotherapy Team
  • Caring: Sara Moore, Ward 6 Coronary Care Unit (CCU)
  • Trusted: Ayaz Vantra, Paediatrics

COVID-19 Awards

  • Clinical Award (Team): Ward 32 (RSH) and Ward 17 (PRH)
  • Clinical Award (Individual): is Heather Rushworth, Critical Care
  • Non-clinical Award (Individual): Kath Titley, Health & Safety Team Manager and Paula Davies (Head of Procurement)
  • Leadership/People Award: Rebecca Houlston, Centre Manager for Emergency Care

Patient and Partners Awards

  • Quality Improvement Award: Dr Banchhita Sahu, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist
  • Innovation Award: Cancer Care Navigators
  • Volunteer of the Year: Anna Welsh
  • Community Support & Fundraising Award: Shropshire, Telford & Wrekin COVID-19 Vaccination Programme, led by Angie Wallace
  • Community Partner Award: Macmillan Cancer Support, Lingen Davies Cancer Fund and League of Friends of RSH

Learning and Development Awards

  • Learning and Development Award (Individual): Nancy Moreton, Clinical Practice Educator
  • Learning and Development Award (Team): International Nursing Team
  • Clinical Rising Star: Amy Louise Pattison, Ward 17
  • Non-Clinical Rising Star: Kayleigh Williams, International Nursing Co-ordinator

Public Recognition Award (in partnership with the Shropshire Star): Gill Joseph, Matron for Ward 25, Day Surgery Short Stay and Outpatients at RSH.

Chair’s Award: Critical Care Team, Theatres, Endoscopy, Day Surgery Unit and Mutual Aid

Chief Executive’s Award (individual): Moira Kaye, Consultant Clinical Scientist, Microbiology

Chief Executive’s Award (team): Cleanliness Team

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bruce Summers, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon