Neurology

Neurology

Please note that this service is temporarily suspended. You can read more about this in our news item.

Neurology deals with diseases of the nervous system. This includes the brain, spinal cord, nerve, muscle and their connections.  SaTH has links to regional centres providing specialist treatment in Birmingham and Stoke.

In addition to our general neurological and visiting neurosurgical services, the department provides in-patient day time ward consultation services.

There are two full-time consultant neurologists plus clinical nurse specialists.

Regular clinics are undertaken for patients with conditions including :

Key Info


Contact Us

Royal Shrewsbury Hospital Secretaries
01743 261105
Melanie Jones: melanie.jones17@nhs.net
Tracy Nurse: tracy.nurse1@nhs.net

Princess Royal Hospital Secretaries
01952 641222 ext 4817 / 4430
Bharti Patel: bharti.patel10@nhs.net
Natalie Caunt: natalie.caunt@nhs.net
Jackie Dainty: jackie.dainty@nhs.net
Bri Hicks: brie.hicks@nhs.net


Interested in working with us?

For more information about vacancies in the Trust please visit our Belong to Something website.

Useful Contacts

Consultants

Dr. Piers Newman – Princess Royal Hospital
Dr John Bowen – Princess Royal Hospital/Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Nurse Specialists

Epilepsy
Conor  Smyth – Epilepsy Specialist Nurse
Email: conor.smyth@nhs.net

Multiple Sclerosis
Jo Chamberlain – Multiple Sclerosis Specialist Nurse (Cross Site and Community)

Parkinson’s Disease
Marie Haywood – Parkinson’s Specialist Nurse (Cross Site)
Email: marie.haywood@nhs.net

Motor Neuron Disease
Lisa Sievwright – MND Co-ordinator (Community)
Email: lisa.sievwright@nhs.net

Physiotherapy
Carole Napper – Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist (in the management or Spasticity)
Email: carole.napper@nhs.net

Rachel Leigh – Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist
Email: rachel.leigh2@nhs.net

Research

Jo Stickley – Research Nurse
Email: jo.stickley@nhs.net