Meet the Team


acMr. Callear (MB BS, BSc, FRCOphth) is a full-time Consultant Ophthalmologist. He received Medical training and a Bachelor of Science degree at University of London. He has a broad experience base in general ophthalmology from his training in Birmingham and Cambridge with interests in small incision cataract surgery and Vitreoretinal surgery. Together with Mr. Tarek Hammam he provides a retina service for retinal detachment, macular hole and epiretinal membrane for Shropshire and Mid-Wales. Since becoming a Consultant in 1999, Mr. Callear has continued to conduct a research programme for junior doctors, and has had several publications in this area. Mr. Callear has been audit lead for Ophthalmology for 12 years. He undertakes continuous prospective audit of his entire vitreo-retinal work-load and entire cataract surgery workload to ensure his practice is in line with the nationally set standard.

Mr. Callear is also a trustee for the Shropshire and Mid-Wales Head and Neck charity.

Secretary – 01743 261000 ext 1495


Mr. Craig ( MB ChB, DO, FRCOphth) specialises in micro-incision cataract surgery, corneal and glaucoma surgery and has broad experience and expertise in all aspects of general Ophthalmology. He trained as an eye specialist in the North of England, Scotland and at Moorfields Eye Hospital, London, where he was fortunate enough to be appointed to a prestigious Fellowship in Corneal and Cataract Surgery working under Prof JKG Dart. Mr. Craig joined The Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust in 1997. He has a longstanding interest in the development and refinement of new surgical techniques. He introduced Descemet’s Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty (DMEK), a new form of corneal transplantation to the UK in 2008. He also introduced micro-incision cataract surgery to the West Midlands. Mr Craig has published several research papers on corneal and cataract surgery and has lectured on many occasions, at regional and national meetings about his work.

Secretary – 01743 261000 ext 1306

thMr. Hammam (MB ChB, MA, FRCS (Ed. Opht)) is a full-time Consultant Ophthalmologist. He qualified from Alexandria University Egypt in 1989, and initially trained in Egypt before moving to the UK in 1998. After specialist registrar rotation at West of Scotland Deanery and Advanced Subspecialty training in surgical retina at Tennent Institute of Ophthalmology in Glasgow, he worked for 2 years as a consultant Ophthalmologist at Southampton University Hospital.
Mr. Hammam has particular expertise in vitrectomy under local anaesthesia as day cases.

Secretary – 01952 641222 ext 4895

After Medical School, Mr.Viswanathan obtained a masters degree in Ophthalmic surgery in India. He subsequently moved to the UK and underwent further  ophthalmology training in London  gaining Membership and Fellowship of The Royal College of Ophthalmologists, London. Mr Viswanathan also completed a retinal Fellowship encompassing high-volume vitreo-retinal surgical experience.

Before being appointed as a Consultant Eye Surgeon at Shrewsbury & Telford NHS Trust in 2017, Mr Viswanathan was appointed as a Consultant Eye Surgeon at Apollo Hospitals, the leading private health care provider in India for 6 years, where he gained further experience treating surgical and medical retinal patients in addition to undertaking a high volume of cataract surgeries.

Mr Viswanathan’s areas of expertise include

• Cataract and cataract surgeries in the presence of retinal disorders
• Vitreoretinal surgeries e.g. retinal detachment, macular holes, epiretinal membranes

• Medical retina disorders like diabetic retinopathy, retinal vein occlusions, age-related macular degeneration

Mr Viswanathan is one of the educational supervisors at SaTH and he is actively involved in the training of junior eye surgeons. He is member of various ophthalmologist associations and has presented both nationally and internationally.

Secretary – 01743 261000 ext 1306

Miss Perera (BSc (Hons) MBBS (Hons) FRCOphth) is a full time Consultant Ophthalmologist specialising in medical retina.  She graduated from King’s College, London and completed her higher specialist ophthalmic training on the Northwest Rotation at Manchester Royal Eye Hospital.   Her further sub-specialist training in medical retina was undertaken at St Paul’s Eye Unit in Liverpool where she was actively involved in multi-centre research studies.  She is particularly interested in medical education and training and regularly teaches allied specialties as well as Ophthalmic trainees.

Secretary – 01743 261000 ext 1492

rMr. Rao (MB BS, MS, FRCS, FRCOphth) is a full-time Consultant Ophthalmologist. Mr. Rao trained at St Paul’s Eye Unit, Royal Liverpool University Hospital, Liverpool, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen and was appointed consultant Ophthalmologist in Shrewsbury and Telford Hospitals in 1999. He has wide experience in cataract surgery and treatments of retinal diseases and has strong background in macular diseases such as macular degeneration and diabetic retinopathy.
Mr. Rao has published over 20 research papers in peer reviewed journals. Many can be accessed through internet on Medline.

Secretary – 01743 261000 ext 1237

Mr. Sagili (MBBS, MS, FRCOphth) is a Consultant Ophthalmologist with special interest in oculoplastics and orbital surgery. Mr. Sagili trained as an eye specialist in the East of England and Cambridge University Hospitals. He undertook fellowship training in oculoplastics at the Queen Victoria Hospital in East Grinstead and worked as a locum consultant oculoplastic surgeon at Moorfields Eye Hospital in St. George’s Hospital, London. He has wide experience in cataract surgery. Mr Sagili has a special interest in treating eyelid disorders, periocular cancers, lacrimal, orbital pathology and thyroid eye disease. He has keen interest in training junior doctors and runs an Oculoplastic fellowship training program. He has published several research articles in peer reviewed journals.

Secretary – 01743 261000 ext 1496

Secretary – on 01952 641222 ext: 4608

Ophthalmology Managers

Andrew Evans – Centre Manager
PA: 01743 261000 ext 1696

Clare Marsh – Matron
PA: 01952 641222 ext 4740


Shrewsbury and Telford Hospitals has a dedicated Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB) Eye Clinic Liaison Officer (ECLO), Emma Chaplin, who can provide advice and support for anyone affected by sight loss on topics that can make life easier such as:

  • maintaining your independence
  • equipment and technology
  • eye condition and treatment understanding
  • access to education, employment, and leisure
  • benefits and concessions that you may be entitled to

Emma can be found in the Ophthalmology department, Monday to Friday and can be contacted on 07808 736 449 or 01743 261 000 ext. 3616 or email

For more information please visit the RNIB’s Sight Loss Advice Service Website.